• Today
    St. Andrews at 9:30am
    Truett-McConnell EST
  • Today
    Point at 11:00am
    Montreat EST
  • Today
    Reinhardt at 11:00am
    Bryan EST
  • Today
    Tennessee Wesleyan at 12:00pm
    Milligan EST
  • Yesterday
    Bluefield at (8) 0
    Union 1
  • Yesterday
    Bluefield at 2
    Union 3
  • Yesterday
    St. Andrews at 1
    Truett-McConnell 7
  • Yesterday
    Point at 6
    Montreat 2
  • Yesterday
    Point at (10) 11
    Montreat 12
  • Yesterday
    St. Andrews at 6
    Truett-McConnell 0
  • Yesterday
    Tennessee Wesleyan at (8) 3
    Milligan 2
  • Yesterday
    Reinhardt at 5
    Bryan 7
  • Yesterday
    Reinhardt at 2
    Bryan 6
  • Yesterday
    Tennessee Wesleyan at 6
    Milligan 5
  • Wednesday, Apr 27
    Montreat at (5) 14
    Johnson Bible 4
  • Wednesday, Apr 27
    Montreat at 8
    Johnson Bible 2
  • Wednesday, Apr 27
    Milligan at 4
    Point Park University 2
  • Wednesday, Apr 27
    Milligan at 5
    Point Park University 7
  • Wednesday, Apr 27
    Columbus State at (6) 7
    Point 2
  • Tuesday, Apr 26
    Truett-McConnell at 6
    Hiwassee 5
Bluefield College Bryan College Columbia College Milligan College Montreat College Point University
Reinhardt University SCAD Atlanta St. Andrews University Tennessee Wesleyan College Truett-McConnell College Union College
News Photo
Baseball - Mon, May. 6, 2013

KINGSPORT, Tenn. - The Appalachian Athletic Conference and the Kingsport Convention and Visitors Bureau will host five teams at Hunter Wright Stadium in the 2013 NAIA Baseball National Championship Opening Round.

The AAC knew one of its own members would be participating in the field, and the team is Tennessee Wesleyan - the conference's regular-season and tournament champion. Ranked eighth in the latest NAIA Top 25 Poll, Tennessee Wesleyan (43-16 overall) is the No. 1 seed for the Kingsport Bracket. Tennessee Wesleyan was the top-seeded team at the Kingsport Bracket in 2012 and won the event on its way to capturing the 2012 NAIA National Championship.

Point Park (Pa.) is the No. 2 seed, having qualified by winning the Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Tournament. The Pioneers are 39-14 overall. Missouri Baptist (31-11 overall) is the No. 3 seed, receiving an at-large bid to the tournament. Taylor (Ind.) is the No. 4 seed. The Trojans won the Crossroads League Tournament to advance and own a 34-12 overall record. The No. 5 seed is Benedictine-Springfield (Ill.), which won the American Midwest Conference Tournament to advance. The Bulldogs are 23-23 on the year.

The tournament will begin Thursday at 11 a.m. with No. 4 Taylor taking on No. 5 Benedictine-Springfield. At 2:30 p.m., No. 2 Point Park and No. 3 Missouri Baptist will do battle. The day will conclude with No. 1 Tennessee Wesleyan facing the Taylor/Benedictine-Springfield winner at 6 p.m.

Live stats will be available. For a complete schedule and for more tournament information, click here.