• Today
    Truett-McConnell at  
    Toccoa Falls  
  • Today
    Tennessee Wesleyan at 10
    Talladega College 9
  • Yesterday
    Point at Cncl
    Selma University  
  • Saturday, Apr 30
    St. Andrews at 10
    Truett-McConnell 4
  • Saturday, Apr 30
    Bluefield at 5
    Union 4
  • Saturday, Apr 30
    Point at 16
    Montreat 4
  • Saturday, Apr 30
    Reinhardt at 10
    Bryan 5
  • Saturday, Apr 30
    Tennessee Wesleyan at 3
    Milligan 5
  • Friday, Apr 29
    Bluefield at (8) 0
    Union 1
  • Friday, Apr 29
    Bluefield at 2
    Union 3
  • Friday, Apr 29
    St. Andrews at 1
    Truett-McConnell 7
  • Friday, Apr 29
    Point at 6
    Montreat 2
  • Friday, Apr 29
    Point at (10) 11
    Montreat 12
  • Friday, Apr 29
    St. Andrews at 6
    Truett-McConnell 0
  • Friday, Apr 29
    Tennessee Wesleyan at (8) 3
    Milligan 2
  • Friday, Apr 29
    Reinhardt at 5
    Bryan 7
  • Friday, Apr 29
    Reinhardt at 2
    Bryan 6
  • Friday, Apr 29
    Tennessee Wesleyan at 6
    Milligan 5
  • Wednesday, Apr 27
    Montreat at (5) 14
    Johnson Bible 4
  • Wednesday, Apr 27
    Montreat at 8
    Johnson Bible 2
Bluefield College Bryan College Columbia College Milligan College Montreat College Point University
Reinhardt University SCAD Atlanta St. Andrews University Tennessee Wesleyan College Truett-McConnell College Union College
News Photo
Baseball - Mon, May. 13, 2013

KINGSPORT, Tenn. - No. 3 seed Missouri Baptist needed 19 innings to pull out a 4-3 victory over top-seeded Tennessee Wesleyan on Monday to win the NAIA Baseball National Championship Opening Round - Kingsport Bracket.

The 19 innings is a record for longest game in an opening round game. The previous record was 11 innings. 

With the win, Missouri Baptist (35-12 overall) advances to the AVISITA-NAIA World Series in Lewiston, Idaho.

Tennessee Wesleyan ends the season at 45-18 overall.

Ricky Pagan of Missouri Baptist set an opening round record with nine at bats in a game. The previous best was seven, accomplished by several. Pagan finished the game 1-for-9. Also, Tennessee Wesleyan set an opening round record for most at bats by a team in a game with 68. The previous record was 62 by Oklahoma City vs. Jamestown (N.D.) and St. Thomas (Fla.) vs. Union (Ky.) with both achieving the mark on May 19, 2010. Missouri Baptist had 64 at bats.

The game nearly ended in regularation as Tennessee Wesleyan was down to its final out before mounting a two-out, two run rally. Joe Stropp put the Spartans up 3-1 in the seventh with a two-run home run. In the bottom of the ninth, Tennessee Wesleyan had no one on with two outs when Brackton Smith and Josh McCray lined back-to-back singles. An error allowed the first Bulldog run to score, Travis Burnside singled in pinch-runner David Donald to tie the game and send it into extra innings.

Then the madness began.

During the next nine innings, both teams had ample opportunities to score the go-ahead and/or the winning run. However, the teams combined to strand 18 runners.

Missouri Baptist finally broke the deadlock in the 19th inning when it loaded the bases with one out and Garrett Vail lofted a sac fly to push the go-ahead run across. Tennessee Wesleyan got the tying run on in the bottom of the 19th as Jake Stone lined a one-out single. But the Bulldogs were unable to score, sealing the 4-3 win for the Spartans.