KNOXVILLE, Tenn. - The Appalachian Athletic Conference (AAC) announced the 2017 All-AAC Men's Lacrosse Team and awards on Thursday, and Drew Wassenaar of Tennessee Wesleyan University is the AAC Player of the Year.

The awards were announced this evening at the tournament banquest at the Holiday Inn in Knoxville, Tenn. The tournament is being held at Baline Stadium in Knoxville.

The other individual awards went to: Jeff Mathis of Reinhardt University for Offensive Player of the Year; Austin Ambrose of Reinhardt as the Defensive Player of the Year; Luke Wyatt of University of the Cumberlands as the Freshman of the Year; and John Snow of Reinhardt is the Coach of the Year.

Reinhardt collected the regular-season season trophy after posting a 6-0 conference mark.

Wassenaar led the AAC in goals with 48, which ranks him sixth in the NAIA. He lanuched 144 total shots with 84 going on goal. Wassenaar dished out 13 assists, giving him 61 points for the year. He racked up a season-high 11 poings against Montreat College as he netted eight goals and had three helpers.

Joining Wassenaar on the All-AAC First Team are: Gregroy Wilson of Point University; Ambrose, Mathis, Kevin Barry, Chad Huffman, Bennett Jarrett, Zach Pinson, and Grant Sufferling of Reinhardt; Wyatt, Nick DiFranco, Jake Mitchell, and Bryan Morgan of Cumberlands.

Making up the All-AAC Second Team are: Bobby Bennett, Gabriel Fardin, Austin Frerman, and Brandon Smoot of Asbury Univesity; Dakota Henson of Montreat; William Collazo-Brown and Najarri Whitehead of Point; Kevon James and Jaylin McCray of Reinhardt; Roderick WIlliams of Tennessee Wesleyan; Preson Brooks, Dakota Lambing, Henry Quaye, Kody Swann, and Jaret Williamson of Cumberlands.

Earning a spot on the Champions of Character Team are: Zack Sparks of Asbury; Cody Penland of Montreat; Joshua Pedron of Point; Mathis of Reinhardt; Sebastian Calmes of St. Andrews University; Wassenaar of Tennessee Wesleyan; and Ryan Middleton of Cumberlands.

In all, 22 made the grade in landing a spot on the Academic All-Conference Team. Montreat led the way with seven honorees.

For a complete look at all of the awards, click here.