ASHEVILLE, N.C. - The Appalachian Athletic Conference (AAC) aw dozens of its member programs earn the distinction of NAIA Scholar-Teams for the 2016-17 academic year, the national organization announced recently.

Of the full-time members, the AAC saw 71 programs named as Scholar-Teams, while affiliate members Asbury and Cumberlands combined for 29 Scholar-Teams. Asbury had all four of its AAC programs (men's lacrosse, women's lacrosse, men's swimming & diving, and women's swimming & diving) receive this distinction.

New full-time member Brenau saw 10 of its programs earn the Scholar-Team moniker.

Reinhardt led the AAC with 18 programs being recognized with Milligan following with 15. Tennessee Wesleyan had 10 teams honors, while SCAD Atlanta had nine, Truett McConnell had eight, Point had seven, Union three, and Bluefield one.

For a team to be considered for the NAIA Scholar-Team award, it must have a minimum 3.0 grade point average (on a 4.0 scale) as defined by the institution. The team grade point average includes all eligible varsity student-athletes.

For more information on NAIA awards, including the Scholar-Team honor, click here.

2016-17 NAIA Scholar Teams (PDFs)
Sorted by Institution | Sorted by Sport | Sorted by GPA